Move BE data from Access 2003 to SQL 2k5

• First, thank you for taking the time to read this.

I have a large MS Access database with quite a number of design 'issues' such as non-keyed tables, few (if any) relationships between tables - just repeated/redundant columns in tables, etc.

The question is, should I go through the work of properly normalizing the database structure in Access (the majority of my experience/skill), or move tables to SQL, and then normalize things? I am relatively new to SQL, but I understand normalization - and it ain't here.

Thanks for your opinions and suggestions!

• I've decided to begin normalization in the current Access database, then migrate to SQL. 🙂

• wise decision !

Keep in mind MS has a free downloadable migration assistant for MSAccess to SQLServer 2005/2008 .

Maybe it can even help you in your current situation to see what issues it comes up with.

Johan

Learn to play, play to learn !

Dont drive faster than your guardian angel can fly ...
    but keeping both feet on the ground wont get you anywhere :w00t:

- How to post Performance Problems
    - How to post data/code to get the best help[/url]

- How to prevent a sore throat after hours of presenting ppt

press F1 for solution, press shift+F1 for urgent solution 😀

Need a bit of Powershell? How about this

Who am I ? Sometimes this is me but most of the time this is me

• Thanks for the agreement. Yeah, I tried that route, just to see what it comes up with, but the original is so convoluted I just have to manually trudge through it.

Problem is that it is also in production and being updated regularly 24x5. So, what I think I am going to do is develop the normalized version - include linked tables to the live version - use append queries to append new live data into the new normalized version. Then, once I can ensure that its all good, I will upsize the normalized tables to SQL and develop views to represent the data the way the client is accostomed to 'seeing' it.