Must declare the scalar variable

• Hi All,

I am not a developer but my boss assign some work please help me on below query...

SELECT @columnNames = COALESCE( @columnNames + ',', '') + column_name,

@columnConvert = COALESCE( @columnConvert + ',', '') + 'convert(nvarchar(4000),'

+ column_name + case when data_type in ('datetime', 'smalldatetime') then ',121'

when data_type in ('numeric', 'decimal') then ',128'

when data_type in ('float', 'real', 'money', 'smallmoney') then ',2'

when data_type in ('datetime', 'smalldatetime') then ',120'

else ''

end + ') as ' + column_name

FROM tempdb.INFORMATION_SCHEMA.Columns

WHERE table_name = '##TempExportData'

Error :- Must declare the scalar variable "@columnNames".

• you need to declare the variables @columnNames and @columnConvert, take a look at the DECLARE syntax and then define the correct data type which is needed for the variables.

• Hi Green,

Could you please update the query. I am not understand this one...

Thanks in advance...

• This URL will help you understand DELCARE http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms188927.aspx

You will need to do something like this

DECLARE @column1 somedatatype, @column2 somedatetype, @column3 somedatatype

• Hi Anthony,

Thanks for update. Actually below query i need to execute & output should come in Excel format, please help me where need to change. If possible please do the changes & update me.

I am a part of DBA ZERO in query part, please help on below query..

use master

go

if object_id('spExportData') is not null

drop proc spExportData

go

create proc spExportData

(

@dbName varchar(100) = 'master',

@sql varchar(5000) = '',

@fullFileName varchar(100) = ''

)

as

if @sql = '' or @fullFileName = ''

begin

select 0 as ReturnValue -- failure

return

end

-- if DB isn't passed in set it to master

select @dbName = 'use ' + @dbName + ';'

if object_id('##TempExportData') is not null

drop table ##TempExportData

if object_id('##TempExportData2') is not null