Naming conventions issue

• Greetings,

I am new to this forum. I have been using Sql Server since 2003.

I am facing a sort of conflict with my current customer :

An old sql server database, migrated from sql server 2000 to sql server 2008 (2003 project).

naming of tables are like the following : tbl_ and Vw and yet procedures have no underscores. The database contains no functions.

All object names are abbreviated, without any dictionary to understand what they mean. We have to ask every time.

We developed a new module, and followed Pascal Casing, with clear words for the tables meaning.

The customer makes a code review and says, that object are not correctly named correctly 🙂 and that the meaning of tables is not clear. Names like AnalyticsAxis, is simply not clear to the customer. We are also asked to follow tbl_.

The customer has no document, he's just following habits based on what was done.

My question is :

How do we deal with such situation?

How is the history of naming?

Where does the popularity of capital casing all letters come from in database design?

Often, the client thinks It's a matter of respect, and takes it personnal, while it's a matter of conventions.

Any input, to answer or guide me would be welcome.

Kind Regards,

O.D.

Oussama Dinia
    .NET Solutions Architect
    http://devmeetsbi.ghost.io/
    http://www.devmeetsbi.io/catalog/3079

• Is this project a one-time development to be passed to the customer after completed for further use and support?

naming of tables are like the following : tbl_ and Vw and yet procedures have no underscores. The database contains no functions.

All object names are abbreviated, without any dictionary to understand what they mean. We have to ask every time.

I believe everyone has their own preference of naming conventions. The "tbl" convention I have heard of coming from people using Microsoft Access (pardon my language:-D).