Need assistance in reconfiguring our backup jobs

• Our DBA left us more than a year ago. However, before he left he did I think a good job in setting up the various maintenance tasks and jobs that keep our SQL Server server running. And fortunately, for me, we're a small shop and our database server needs are small. I work as a senior programmer analyst, so tat is my primary function, but I've become the default DBA, after the former DBA left. I worked with him the closest, so I knew more than the rest of my colleagues what was going on, etc.

In looking at our users' needs, it seems to me as though we would better serve them if our database backups were provided more frequently. For example, the former DBA set up a full backup job that runs once a week, and then incremental backup jobs that run daily. Honestly, this has been the way it has been here, since this business started almost 15 years ago. However, I've seen our users loose data, and if the incrementals were run more frequently, I think we could recover some of their lost data. I've proposed changing our backup strategy to a full backup each day, and incremental backups done hourly, at least during business hours. For our situation, and given the workload done by our users, I believe this change would significantly help in recovering data that may get lost.

The thing for me, though, is I'm not entirely sure how the former DBA set things up so they would run as they do. For example, he set up a Maintenance plan (something we'd never done before), with 6 sub-plans. Recently, I added a new Maintenance plan, to remove old backup files (.BAK and .TRN) from the server. He hadn't done this, and so we had backup files going back for a few years left on the server. (Fortunately, the server's HD is large and our databases are relatively small!) My new maintenance plan purges all .bak and .trn files older than 8 weeks, and I've checked it the last couple of weeks and it seems to be working fine.