Need help merging info from non-similar tables

• I'll try to explain this as best I can. I'm no TSQL expert by any means, so maybe this is very simple, or maybe it isn't quite possible the way it's currently designed.

I have 3 tables, pertaining to a defined business process (Server Build).

One table, dbo.Server_Master, will have one row inserted for each new server that is purchased (ServerName, SerialNumber, etc).

The second table, dbo.Server_Steps, contains 40 static rows, detailing each step in a pre-defined build process (Install NIC, Install OS, etc).

The third table, dbo.Server_Status needs to be populated with all of the 40 static rows from dbo.ServerSteps, with some of the info from dbo.Server_Master appended to the beginning of the row.

My assumption is some sort of join, but I'm not sure, since the Server_Steps table doesn't have anything to join on.

For example:

dbo.Server_Master

ServerID (identity) ServerName SerialNum OpSys

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX

When that row gets entered into dbo.Server_Master (info will eventually be coming from an InfoPath form), I already have a trigger set up to fire off a stored procedure. Right now, I have the stored procedure inserting a row into dbo.Server_Status like so:

dbo.Server_Status

ServerID (identity) ServerName SerialNum OpSys StepID StepDescription

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX NULL NULL

The contents of dbo.Server_Steps is something like this:

dbo.Server_Steps

StepID StepDescription

1 Install NIC

2 Install Operating System

3 Add server to domain

4 Assign IP

. .

. .

40 Setup Complete

So, what I need to get to is where dbo.Server_Status essentially has 40 rows for each new server being built, like so:

dbo.Server_Status

ServerID (identity) ServerName SerialNum OpSys StepID StepDescription

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX 1 Install NIC

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX 2 Install Operating System

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX 3 Add server to domain

1 ServerABC 123456789 UNIX 4 Assign IP

and so forth