Need help with SSIS package created from Import feature.

• Hi All,

Please help me with using SSIS package for downloading the SQL server database hosted on Azure. I am new to SSIS packages.

Basically - we have a database in SQL Azure and we want copy of that database on our local machine daily. I want to automate this process of having daily backup of SQL Azure database locally. One of the solution I came across is using SSIS package and scheduling it.

Here is what I did -

a) I have fairly large database with number of tables. So instead of creating SSIS package in BIDS enviornment - I first created blank database on my local machine. Then used "Import" feature to import all the tables from SQL Azure. In the last step of Import process - I had option of saving it as a SSIS package. I saved SSIS package on File System. So now I have SSIS package.

b) But I can not use that SSIS package as it is because it will give me error of "table xxx already exists" etc next time. So I need to modify that SSIS package to add one SQL task - which will drop existing database at the begining. So every day I will be creating new database on local machine which is fine.

c) To do this - I opened the saved SSIS package in BIDS and added new SQL task at the begining. But if I try to run the SSIS package now - it gives me error at first Data Flow task. Please note that I havent made any changes to SSIS package (which was created with successfully Import) - except adding new SQL task at the begining. Even if I dont add that new task and simply run the SSIS pacakge as it is - it gives error.

I am not sure why SSIS package should give me error in first data flow task because this package was generated from successful import on local machine DB. The error message I am getting in log is :

OnError,RMG-FSYSHS1,RICH\Clarion,Data Flow Task 1,{35F63A4D-949A-4A84-860E-1DCC8854ED38},{1800E3FE-B6D4-4BD9-BA55-2849DC6B5228},5/18/2012 1:38:35 AM,5/18/2012 1:38:35 AM,-1073450910,0x,