Need to setup a login that limits the user to one db only.

• I need to setup a database role that allows the users to have access to all objects within the database except security. We have several databases in the sql instance. I only want them to be able to login and see anything within that one db. I am new to sql security and can't seem to get this figured out. I need them to have full rights to tables, views, stored procedures, etc. I do not want them to be able to view security or the master, temp db, etc. I hope I made sense.

Thanks

• Such a role already exists: db_owner. Basically, you need to do the following:

1. create a login for the user(s) to log in with. Recommend Windows integrated security if possible.

2. create a user in the specific database they are to have access to linked to the login you created.

3. add this user to the db_owner database role which will give it access to all objects in the database.

if you need anything more sophisticated than this (doesn't sound like you do) you will need to creat a new database role and give it specific permissions and/or add it to other roles as required.

The probability of survival is inversely proportional to the angle of arrival.

• I have them in the role right now as db_owner. But they have access to the security in that database and also in the Master, Tempdb, and distribution database. I want them to only have access to tables, views, synonyms, programmability. That should be it. Currently they are setup in the instance with the public role - which does give him access to the master, tempdb and distribution db. I gave them select rights to the db i want them to have. In that db they have their own schema and are a member of the db_owner role. Any other suggestions?

Thanks!