Nested SPs where the inner SP returns a recordset

• Hi Folks

Hope someone can help me with this. I'm a bit of a newbie with SQL Server - but have a fair bit of Oracle experience.

I'm busy converting the database component of an application from Oracle into SQL Server 2000. We've got several cases where one stored procedure calls another - and the second SP, which is called by the first one, returns a recordset which the first SP then uses to update a table etc.

We set things up this way to avoid code duplication, for reasons of maintenance, and have many instances within our code of one SP being called by several other SPs.

How do I make the first SP capture the recordset returned from the second SP so it can insert that recordset into a table?

In Oracle, we did this by using a cursor as an output parameter, then having the calling SP step through the rows of that cursor; but I see no way to do this in SQL Server.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd be most grateful to hear them.

David.

• I think that table variables might give you what you need - they can be passed as parameters to/from stored procedures - try reading the on-line help and see how you get on.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Hi Phil

Thanx for that. I'd already thought about table variables - but, SQL Server 2000 won't allow them to be used as output parameters from an SP, only as a return value from a function.

There is one other grey area here too.

We use ADO for the interface between the database component and the front-end VB component of our application; and ADO has, in the past, had problems with Oracle PL/SQL tables being returned as output parameters. I suspect that this might also be the case with table variables.