New DBA

• I've been dabling in SQL 2000 for the last two years. A little bit ago my company promoted me to DBA (Which I have no ide where to start). The first thing I did was go out and buy

2 SQL 2000 Performance and Tuning Books and

1 Admins Guide to SQL 2000

Just wanted to know if anyone had any good suggestions or comments for a rookie. I'm sure I'll be asking a bunch of questions.

Thanks for everything

Shane

• 1. Read as much of SQL Server 2000 Books-on-Line (BOL) as you can. All the basics (and more) are covered and you will save yourself a great deal of pain by understanding what is in that reference.

2. Make sure you and your boss are clear on what your role is as a DBA, and what functions you are expected to perform. Tackle those areas first.

3. Learn the basics of TSQL.

4. Learn how to use the basic tools that come with SQL Server - Enterprise Manager, Query Analyzer, Profiler and Performance Monitor. Enterprise Manager is a great learning tool for beginners, but do not become overly dependent on it.

5. Learn from others. There are several excellent web sites that post articles and offer forums. My favs are: SQL Server Central, SQL Server Worldwide Users Group (sswug.org), SQL Server Performance (sql-server-performance.com), SQL Pass, and Microsoft's SQL Server site. Seeing how others have tackled similar problems you encounter (sql scripts, stored procs, etc.) provides great insights.

• Hi,

always make sure that your backup and maintenance jobs are scheduled and work successfully in case of any problems (especially on production machines).

Paul

• quote:

Just wanted to know if anyone had any good suggestions or comments for a rookie. I'm sure I'll be asking a bunch of questions.

you're welcome!

...and ask your manager for a copy of Inside SQL Server 2000 worth some 40$

Frank

http://www.insidesql.de

http://www.familienzirkus.de

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs