New DBA resuming in a financial org.....

• I am a new DBA resuming in a financial org running sql 2008....what do i look out for or expect to do

your experience is needed...

Thanks

• Pretty much everything. Did you get no turnover from the previous DBA or your manager? If not, you're in a tough spot.

Backups and disaster recovery should be your primary concerns. After that, regulatory compliance is a must at a financial firm, and not knowing is not an excuse. You have to find out what regulations you must comply with in regards to data, security, auditing, etc. After that, I'd personally worry about getting good monitoring in place so that you can be pro-active instead of reactive. Finally, I'd get on top of whatever deployment process the developers are using. Understand what it is and what it does.

That's just a start.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• Thanks a lot .........

I guess SQL profiler and the DB tuning advisor are my best bets .... what types of common performance bottlenecks should i look out for in a financial firm

thanks

• oluwaseunadenaike (6/28/2011)

I guess SQL profiler and the DB tuning advisor are my best bets

Profiler yes, DTA absolutely not. I'm currently making nice money cleaning up the mess that DTA made of an financial company's most important DB.

.... what types of common performance bottlenecks should i look out for in a financial firm

The same ones you'll get anywhere else. Nothing special about financial data other than the tighter security, regulation and likely stricter SLAs. Performance problems are performance problems no matter the industry.

Gail Shaw