Newbe SSIS Questions

• All

OK, I am a newbie to SSIS.....so time for a few stupid questions....lol

I have started contracting at a company that is using allot of SSIS jobs in their production environment. I am doing production support....and every now and then a SSIS package fails...and it is for me to fix it.

Now when I was supporting DTS packages, I could just double click on it and it opened in a window....make the fix and save..... Easy

When an SSIS packages has an issue....I can use Management Studio to connect to the SSIS package, but I cannot edit it there. I can see it, but it looks like the only option is to export it to a local file then use visual studio to make the changes and re-import it back to the server.

My question is....isn't there an easier way? Cant I just go to SSIS, open the package and then re-save it back? What am I missing here?

Thanks in advance

Eric

• SSIS is a developer-centric approach rather than the DTS administrator-centric approach. Although this is a shift, it does not have to be a painful one.

You should have your source code in some kind of source control (VSS, team server, or something else). Rather than opening the packages from the server, you should be opening Visual Studio and opening the packages from Source Control. Then, it is a metter of opening the package, making the change, and deploying.

If your client does not use any type of source control - quit. Or, if you like the job and cannot convince them to use source control, you should create a set of local folders with copies of the packages. Pull the packages from the server and make local copies inside a solution (or several solutions). Again, this will allow you to simply open the packages through visual studio and deploy changes. Of course, in this way you would have to manage getting the latest version from the server if other developers have been making any changes.

• Michael,