Newbie: How to Import data into table?

• Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to SQL Server. I will appreciate any feedback regarding

the following question:

Ques: Everday i get a pipe delimited file from company. I need to schedule job to import the file to the table in the database. I want the SQL to email me whenever the job fails and completes. The server does not have any Outlook profile set up. I can configure Outlook Express to connect to the Exchange Server.

Thanks

Manny

• Definitely two distinct tasks. To get the data in, the easiest way is DTS. If you right click on the table or database, you'll get an option to import data. Follow the wizard. Would recommend trying in a test environment first and don't forget that you'll need to verify the quality of the data.

For email, the easiest/standard way is to install Outlook. SQL doesn't work with OE.

• Can i automate the Import process?

• Little "Import" Survey (let's here from alot of you, feel free to add or edit) :

Maybe we'll do another for "Exporting"

1. Do you understand (choose any / all):

A. DTS        B. BULK INSERT        C. Linked Servers       D. OPENROWSET|QUERY        E. TextCopy

2. Which of the above do you use? (Order by source, preference):

A. DTS        B. BULK INSERT        C. Linked Servers       D. OPENROWSET|QUERY        E. TextCopy

3. Preference of implementation? (Free form answer) (Create, Maintain, Automate Execution):

Enterprise Mngr.,  Q/A, OSQL, Jobs, SPs etc.

4. Why? (purely optional)

Once you understand the BITs, all the pieces come together

• 1. Do you understand (choose any / all): B,C,D,E, little a

2. Which of the above do you use? (Order by source, preference):

Usually into temp tables, then manipulate.

Text - Bulk Insert, Blobs use TextCopy

SQL to SQL - OpenRowset, Linked Servers

other DB (OLEDB, ODBC) - OpenRowset, Linked Servers

3. Preference of implementation? (Free form answer) (Create, Maintain, Automate Execution):