Newbie needs help

• Hi all,

I am a web developer whos been given the role of DBA. I know a fair bit of databasing but mostly from the client side where I am always writing interfaces. I need to make some changes to the schema of a database to accomodate a many-to-many relationship but I am unsure how to do it properly.

Here's the scenario...

There are certificates (products). Each cert can have several signatures (.gif files). The individual signatures may be used on several different certificates. The functionality required is for users to look up a certificate and see a list of the signatures it embodies. Also, it is necessary to search the signatures and see the list of certs for each.

I need help with this. I am running SQL Server 2K. There are pre-existing tables for both certs and sigs. I had the idea of using delimited lists stored in table columns but the problem here is there is alot of dynamic change. I appreciate any tips or advice very much.

Thanks

MR

• MR

Create a table called CertsSigs.  This will contain one row for every combination of certificate and signature.  If you need a list of all certificates and their signatures, you can then join the Certificates, CertsSigs and Signatures tables.

John

• Hi John,

This makes sense. On the interface end I could generate the CertSigs rows by making a new field on the add and update forms for the certificates. The new field can be a multi-select list of signatures available for that customer.

Then to retrieve the result for a certificate view I might use this:

FROM certificate JOIN certsigs

ON certsigs.certID = certificate.certID

and then replace the certificate table with the signature table for a signature view.

Sound reasonable?

Mike

• Mike