NT Administrator vs SQL DBA

• I am currently the SQL DBA in a local government.  We are using SQL 2000 and am currently upgrading to SQL 2005 Standard Edition.  The NT administrators have now decided to remove my access to the server thus leaving me with only the SQL 2005 MMC.

Since I am new to SQL 2005, my question is this:

Can I do EVERYTHING necessary via the SQL 2005 MMC that I used to be able to via SQLCMD and being on the server?

All help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you!

• SQL QA is more valuable than SQL MMC as MMC can't do everything...but QA can execute any scripts you can design.

I can't comment in detail on the "remove from NT" issue...but my feeling is that I would suspect it's a losing battle by the NT ADmins....as you would/should have (as DBA) access to a SQL role which would have "NT ADmin" anyway....or rather you could get SQL Server to have access to NT ADmin on your behalf....The SQL Account itself would have authority to do loads.  Sounds like somebody trying to play smart....or maybe too smart for their own competancy.

• - They must have no confidence at all regarding their DBA's.

- If this is a political issue, have it placed back on the agenda ! In case of disaster, problems, monitoring everybody has advantages having a dba that does not have to wait on some NT-admin before he can get a look regarding what's going on at windows serverlevel. (not only at sqlserver-level).

- If you have sysadmin rights for sql2005 and the serviceaccount of sql2005 has windows-sysadmin, you can do anything you want.

this last section has been removed ...

... because it could cost you your job in this situation

-- add nt-account/group to localgroup administrators

set nocount on

-- is xp_cmdshell enabled ? if not, enable it

declare

@SQLcmdshell varchar(100)

Create

table #tmpConfigCmdShell (configName varchar(128), MinValue varchar(15), MaxValue varchar(15), ConfigValue varchar(15), RunValue varchar(15))

Set