ODBC SQLStateL 42000 error causing failed backups

• First, I am a major newbie so whatever replies any of you may send, please provide as much 4-1-1 as you can and don't assume anything

I was forced to take over a database and network for a small LAN about seven years ago with zero experience or training.  To date, I have been able to figure out each problem encountered... until now.

I set up all of my backups to run on a maintenance schedule since I move us from SQLBase to SS 7.0 and have run without fail.  Once each month, I do a manual backup after running Month End processing and then compress the backup to be placed on media and moved off site.  The database's current size is about 6.5 Gig.

On 8/1/05 when I started the manual backup, it failed.  The error read as follows:

Microsoft SQL-DMO (ODBC SQLState: 42000)

The Microsoft Tape Format (MTF) soft filemark database on backup device 'H:\SS_BACKUPSSSS\TN62' cannot be read, inhibiting random access.  Backup or restore operation terminating abnormally.

When I checked the event viewer, it indicated that there was insufficient space on the disk (our backups go to a separate partition on one of our servers drives).  I checked and confirmed that to be the case.  I removed a number of useless files, etc. and gained 4.90 Gig of free space.  That has not solved the problem.  The scheduled backups do not work and even deleting all of the scheduled maintenance plans and recreating them does not work.  The verification phase of the maintenance plan runs successfully, but the backup fails immediately.  I have run DBCC CHECK and it returns no errors.

I am going to be moving our database to a new server running  RAID 5 configuration so as to enhance performance, gain much-needed disk space and migrate to SS 2000.  Until then, I need to keep things working in the current configuration.