Package transactions

• HI All,

I'm new to this so I appologise for the simplicity of the question.

I have a Package called "Master".

This Package contains multiple "Execute Package Tasks" which lead from one to another.

I want to make sure that they are all part of the same transactions, so if the last package fails then all the packages are rolled back including the first one.

Is this possible?

Thanks

Chris

----------------------------------------------
    Try to learn something about everything and everything about something. - Thomas Henry Huxley

:w00t:
    Posting Best Practices[/url]
    Numbers / Tally Tables[/url]

SQL-4-Life
  • Not in my experience.

Usually what happens is that the SSIS package considers the "Execute Pkg" task as just a command to start the next package rather than waiting for the package to finish before it moves on to the next step. This is what defines success or failure for it. If the package starts, the parent package moves on to the next "success" step. If the package fails to start, the parent package either fails or moves on to the next "failure" step.

You can try setting transactions in the parent package as Required and then set the same settings on the child Execute pkg tasks, but I don't think it'll work. I think we had to script something out to do this properly. Let me get with the developer who worked on ours and see how he got around the issue. He won't be in till later, though.

Brandie Tarvin, MCITP Database AdministratorLiveJournal Blog: http://brandietarvin.livejournal.com/[/url]On LinkedIn!, Google+, and Twitter.Freelance Writer: ShadowrunLatchkeys: Nevermore, Latchkeys: The Bootleg War, and Latchkeys: Roscoes in the Night are now available on Nook and Kindle.

• I just checked with the developer and he agreed with my comments. There is no way to role child packages back from a parent package.

Here's what we did.

1) Set up a job that takes a snapshot of the database in the first step.