Parallel Process utility and Key Errors

• Hi all,

I recently started playing around the the Parallel Process utility seeing as my server has 8 procs. It looks fantastic in that it cuts my cube processing time (which is about 6 hours!) in half but there is one slight issue I need to find a way around...

The cubes I have inherited have a bit of a flaw. There are many dimension key errors (for example people in my fact table who have been deleted from the hierarchy) on many of them. I can not control the quality of this data due to external systems and other boring political bits and bobs within my company so we have had to turn off in Analysis Manager "stop on key errors".

Parallel Process doesn't seem to like key errors regardless of what this setting is. It will spend an hour processing the partition and runs through all the rows, builds all the aggregates etc and displays which members have errors but when it's finished doing all that it ends, reports an error in the log and the partition is still marked as UnProcessed in Analysis Manager.

Does anyone know of any way to tell the utility to not care and finish off, leaving them processed and able to be queried?

Alternatively does anyone know of a better way of processing 132 partitions spread over 33 cubes that can process more than 1 partition at a time (or otherwise speed the whole process up a lot).

Cheers,

Mike

• If you're inclined (and you have access to the VB6 dev environment) you could open the src folder in the install directory, open the project and then step through the code when processing a single partition.  This could let you see what's happening in the code to set/not set the 'stop on error keys' flag.

Steve.

• I had a quick look through (ie not comprehensive) but it doesn't look like the ProcessingKeyErrorLimit value is set anywhere for the partition, so this would probably leave it at the default which I think is 0 which means it accepts none.

Steve.