Performance Hits

• I'm building a form which takes way too long to load up over the WAN. The user needs to navigate through the list of Part Numbers which means that I've loaded a lot of data over the network. To speed this process up and give the user the impression they are seeing all the data and navigating between them I have loaded a bound form with only the primary key so when they navigate to the previous, next, last or whatever I fill the remaining data from a single record using the key as the parameter and filling the remaining controls using a stored procedure. This ends up being SIGNIFICANTLY faster than the previous method. There are 109,000 records. I'm a beginner when it comes to tuning a client/server application for performance and would appreciate any alternatives/suggestions for enhancing performance.

One idea was to merely fill a control with the keys and have the user pick each one. This takes time to fill the control but once filled it works ok. However, there is a limit on the number of records returned for the control in Access and unless I could overcome this limitation it's unacceptable.

Steve King

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• I personnaly don't like that kind of programing behavior in a client/server environment.

That one fits well on a standalone database/application of Clipper/ACCESS... type of database.

I usually let enter the key or a part of the key (in case of a varchar field) and retrieve only the relevant records.

Bye

Gabor

Bye
    Gabor

• And that is the reason I've requested some help here. Your response however was somewhat limited since I would need to implement any alternatives. One problem is the user would not necessarily know what primary keys were entered in the database so I would need to provide them with that information is some fashion. Any help is appreciated.

• quote:

I personnaly don't like that kind of programing behavior in a client/server environment.