Performance Monitoring

• I am looking to do some basic performance monitoring on my sQL Server 2000 instance and I THINK sql profiler will help me with this.. but I've never used it before and I can't seem to figure out which kind of trace to do to give me Server statistics like utilization, # of transactions and turnaround time, etc... can anyone help, or maybe point me towards a good 3rd party solution?

• There are quite a few third party tools out there like Spotlight from Quest Software and NetIQ's suite of tools. However, you can do a lot of it yourself using Profiler and PerfMon. A few good books:

Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Performance Optimization and Tuning Handbook - by Ken England

SQL Server 2000 Performance Tuning - Microsoft Press

Of course, I'll shamelessly plug my eBook as well.

K. Brian Kelley
    @kbriankelley

• SQL Diagnostic Manager, was SQL Probe, and is on its thrid owner now, is one of the best tools I've seen and one I've used for the last 6 odd years ( in three different companies )

It has far less impact on your server then spotlight for instance.

[font="Comic Sans MS"]The GrumpyOldDBA[/font]
    www.grumpyolddba.co.uk
    http://sqlblogcasts.com/blogs/grumpyolddba/

• are you talking about sql diag manager from idera??

I download an eval version yesterday - nice tool but i can't figure out how to make it generate reports.

• yup that's the one - ours comes from NET IQ who I think have sold it on to Idera. Reports are available from the drop down lists under the server name on the LH side. It can be a fiddle to work out how they work, certainly not the easiest to work out - we normally export to text and import into excel.

www.grumpyolddba.co.uk

• wonderfull! looks like a pretty slick tool!!

thanks everyone for your help and input!