Performance Problems after Porting Database

• Hi,

I'm new to SQL Server Administration and i've got a big problem.

I've designed a database on Windows 2003 Server/SQL Server 2000 with a lot of stored procedures used by an application over network.

First i had absolute no performance problems importing data to the database on our developer system. After i moved the database to another SQL server with exactly the same setup, my import time increases by 2000%. On dev system, the import takes about 1 hour, on the other system it's about 20 hours.

The setup and configuration of the database is exactly the same, the hardware is nearly the same. I can't find the problem...

Anyone an idea or ever had the same problem?

Thx for every answer

• If everything truely is the same from the old server to the new, the first thing I would check is the physical connection of the server to the network among a few other things.  It is quite possible that there are settings, configurations, etc, that aren't part of SQL server that could affect performance.  but check for simple things like:

1) Is the new server plugged into the same switch that the old one was?

2) Are the hard drives configured in the same manner as on the old server? (raid config, speed, etc)

3) Are the data files in the same locations (tempdb separated from your other data files, data files separated from your log files, etc)

Forgive me if these are steps you've already confirmed, but it is always best to start with making sure the server is plugged in and then work up from there.

-G

• 1) Yes, both servers are plugged into the same switch

2) Hard drives configuration is different. It looks this way :

"fast" dev system:

• single disk, contains only sql databases
    • Seagate ST3808110AS Barracuda 80 GB
    • 7200 RPM
    • 8,5 ms
    • S-ATA II
    • 8 MB Cache

"slow" test system:

• contains only sql databases
    • SATA Raid1, 2 disks
    • same as above