PERFORMANCE QUESTION

• HI ,

I am new to sql server 2005 and I had 2 3 interviews.

Where i got this question repated everytime and i have searched google andeverywhere i didnt got the answer and am sure i will get it here

the quest is

1}You created a query/store proc and the output result was in 1 2 second's everything was fine but when you came next day the same code was taking 1hr what could be the reason ??????

2}You created a store proc and for you its taking 1 2 seconds whereas for the other user's the same code is taking 1hr what could be the reason???

So please do answer expers

Thanks a lot

• Since they're interview questions, I'm not going into great detail. You can research more yourself

irfan.sql (12/4/2007)

1}You created a query/store proc and the output result was in 1 2 second's everything was fine but when you came next day the same code was taking 1hr what could be the reason ??????

Could be out of date statistics, could be parameter sniffing[/url]

2}You created a store proc and for you its taking 1 2 seconds whereas for the other user's the same code is taking 1hr what could be the reason???

Could be related to object ownership. Could be parameter sniffing. Otherwise, not sure.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • My suggestions:-

1) check the index in the table i.e your query should perform index seek and scan while executing the query.

• Ananth (12/5/2007)

My suggestions:-

1) check the index in the table i.e your query should perform index seek and scan while executing the query.

Seeks preferably, as few scans as possible.

Gail Shaw
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability