peventing accidental deletes

• Is there a way to get sql server to present a message box asking if you are you sure you want to delete all the data in a table.

also are there any 'best practises' to avoid accidental deletes.

For example Im making a lot of delete statements like:

del from table_name

where item_id = 23

but one time I executed this statement I mistakenly excuted the first line of the statment only, resulting in the loss of all the data in the table, luckily I was able to re-populate the table, but I wish to avoid that mistake in the future.

• begin tran

select count(*) from table_name

del from table_name

where item_id = 23

select count(*) from table_name

rollback tran

Run once like this, then if everything looks fine, then just run the delete by itself.  Also you normally have to do test runs in developpement or Quality assurance environement before running the scripts in production.

• thanks for that.

• Hi Mark /Ninja,

I am new to the DBA Administration and while reviewing the discussed topics, I was just trying the steps which you have specified with begin transaction and roll back up.

When I tried for the first time, I deleted some of the data in the table, before that I used the begin tran and rolled back the data to the table again.

After that I just tried to run it one more time, at that time suddenly I deleted the data before starting the begin tran. Now I am wondering how I could restore the deleted data back to the table.

Please help me out...

Thanks in Advance,

Regards

Senthil Kumar

• Hi Senthil,