Problems with VB code in Access 2003

• I work with a scientist who's invested a lot of time writing VB code inside several Access 97 databases.  I helped her convert these to Access 2003 with support from MS because of strange problems we encountered, but not all of the issues were fixed and now the workarounds she needs to use are really slowing her down.

Is there a better platform to use other than Access?  Straight VB perhaps?  She uses forms and makes calls to a 3rd party graphics modeling package to generate graphs...

I'm a DBA, not a developer.  Any suggestions?

Neil

• can you provide more info on the work arounds she has to do and what needs to be done to avoid the work arounds

• Asking if VB is a "better platform" is incredibly vague.  VB is more powerful, but also more general-purpose.  There will be a learning curve involved, bad enough with VB6 but huge with VB.NET.

I have done a lot of VB for over 10 years, and a little Access.  Access forms have a lot of functionality that would have to be manually coded in VB, but I usually felt like I was trying to do keyhole surgery without being able to use the full power of VB.  I'm not sure how a seasoned Access programmer will feel about VB, but I've never met a VB programmer that was excited about moving to pure Access.

If they are willing to work through the pain of moving to a different platform, I would recommend VB.NET.  It won't be easy, but I think they will be much happier with the final product.

• I wrote a lot in VB 6, Now I am using Access 2003. They are VERY similar. VB 6 was much more powerful, with a lot more obscure commands. If her programs were written in Access 97, there should be little that needs to be done to move them to 2003. The biggest issue I had was going from a DAO data object to an ADO data object. ADO is so much more complicated, and it took a bit for me to come to grips with the changes.