Querying against a view or underlying tables: performance/reusability?

• Hello,

I am new to writing optimized code; I tried to do this before but never had an application that was large enough to know that I might not have been doing things the 'best' way. So, my question is this: I have a relatively simple query:

SELECT PO.purchaseOrderID

, PO.POnumber

, PO.dateInitiated

, PO.dateComplete

, VE.vendorName

, POI.qtyOrdered

, POI.qtyReceived

, POI.qtyCurrent

, IV.vendorItemNumber

, IT.companyItemNumber

, IT.itemDescript

, POI.qtyOrdered-ISNULL(POI.qtyReceived, 0) AS qtyOutstanding

FROM tblPurchaseOrder PO

-- may not be using vendors

LEFT OUTER JOIN tblVendor VE ON PO.vendorID = VE.vendorID

INNER JOIN tblPOItem POI ON PO.purchaseOrderID = POI.purchaseOrderID

LEFT OUTER JOIN tblItemVendor IV ON POI.itemID = IV.itemID

AND PO.vendorID = IV.vendorID

INNER JOIN tblItem IT ON POI.itemID = IT.itemID

The interface will need to call this by certain parameters, but not all parameters at the same time. The parameters will be:

purchaseOrderID

PONumber

dateCompleted (more a null check for all POs that aren't completed, etc.)

itemID

These parameters won't be called at the same time (only one per call), so I was going to write 4 stored procedures, one with each parameter as input.

Would the reusability of a view (using a stored procedure to query the view versus writing the table code out each time) outweigh performance loss?

If the view seems warranted, would indexing the view be recommended?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

• Just a single stored proc with four input parameters should be fine. Deal with the fact that some will be NULL in the logic of the proc.

If you will only ever have one parameter at a time, merely adding that column as an index in the underlying table should give you the necessary performance.