question about SQL Server for business

• I am doing a paper that is about getting a systems development plan for five fitness centers.  I need to know if this database would work for something like that.  I am new to all of this and have no idea about databases so any help would be very appreciated.  Thanks

• Yes SQL Server will work for the project, so would Oracle, Sybase, and DB2. Depending on the requirements you may also use MySQL, or PostgreSQL but would run into some additional work if you wanted advanced replication and clustering for failover and fault tolerance issues.

About the only thing that will not work is Access, or any database on a Mac.

Hope this helps-

Dave

• Don't dismiss Access so quickly without knowing the details of the required application. Depending on the needs of the company and what they want to do, Access could well be a possible solution. In 1998 I developed an Access application that was truly an Enterprise level program. The limitations of Access were overcome by a distributed replication system allowing multiple back-ends to even the load. Not one database crash in 6 years of operation. The back-end was ultimately replaced in 2005 with SQL Server 2000 due to the size of the database (1.5GB).

• Deciding which database technology to use for your system can be a complex task and, as such, there are no right or wrong answers to your question. Much depends on the requirements you have to satisfy. For example, budget number of users; centralised database; application architecture; UI requirements etc.. 

In my view a SQL Server engine is generally the best (and, typically) only way forward but Access does have its place if used appropriately.

You can always start with SQL Server Express Edition. This provides a cut down  (but fully compatible) version of SQL Server that can be distributed free of charge to your clients (I think?). You can then migrate to SQL Server 2005 (Standard Edition) at a later date.