RAID config

• Ok, taking a survey.  I'm spec'ing out an HP Proliant DL360 G4p.  It max's out at 4 internal drives.  So, I'm looking at four HP 72GB 15,000 RPM SCSI U320 drives.  Now, vote on a RAID config.

1)  OS, Swap file, Program Files, Transaction Logs on 2 drive mirror.

Database data files on 2 drive mirror.

OR

2)  Everything on a 4 drive RAID10 (2 drive stripped pairs with another mirrored set).  Should have strong write and read capabilities.

Keep in mind that I expect my DB workload to be 90% random read/write, 10% seqential access.  In fact, the 10% sequential would likely be due to power user queries and DBA tasks.

Please vote.  I've never actually worked on RAID10 so I have no personal experience to go on.

Thanks in advance.

Ryan

• Ryan

I suppose it depends how much of your read/write is write.  Transaction logs are written to sequentially so if you have a fair amount of write activity then you should consider placing the logs on one RAID1 array and everything else on the other.  I think it's more important to separate files in this way than it is to get whatever benefits RAID10 gives you.  If you choose this option then you should logically partition the OS/data files array so that growing data files don't stop your OS from working and so that you can reformat your OS volume without losing your data, should you ever need to.

John

• You're right, TLOG writes are sequential so I should alter my statement.  90% of my activity will be very small singleton reads/writes.  There will be very little activity with large batch statements of any kind.  There will be LOTS of:

INSERT INTO dbo.Table (col1, col2, col3, col4)

VALUES (val1, val2, val3, val4)

Of the 90% singleton statements, 90% will be of the INSERT variety above.  10% would be simple selects.

The last remaining total 10% will be sizable read, update, DBCC batches.

So far I have one vote for:

-OS, prog files, swap, mdf's ON RAID1

-TLogs on separate RAID1

Thanks

Ryan

• Ryan,