Removing a SQL node from a cluster

• First and foremost - I AM NOT A SYSTEMS ADMIN

I'm a DBA. My windows admin and I built a sql cluster to do availability groups. It was both of our 1st time building for AG. It was a total success. Then we pointed our 3rd party software at it and it couldn't deal with the fact that we'd clustered. It was a disaster. We had to very quickly remove the nodes from the cluster and point everything at just one of the nodes and move forward as if the cluster never existed. B node is completely powered down at this point and the A node is now treated like a singular server.

The problem is that the logs in that A node are bombarded with cluster-related failure entries. Over and over and over and over again, the same set of errors in the Cluster Events log and in the Windows event log.

Let's say the cluster is named TESTSERVER with 2 nodes: TESTSERVERA and TESTSERVERB. The repeated errors are as follows:

• The cluster service encountered an unexpected problem and will be shut down. The error code was '5050'.
    • Failed to form cluster 'TESTSERVER' with error code '6'. Failover cluster will not be available.
    • The cluster Resource Hosting Subsystem (RHS) process was terminated and will be restarted. This is typically associated with cluster health detection and recovery of a resource. Refer to the System event log to determine which resource and resource DLL is causing the issue.

Those are specifically in the Cluster Events on TESTSERVERA (remember B is powered down).

The errors from the Windows Event Viewer on A happen every 1 minute:

• Failed to form cluster 'TESTSERVER' with error code '6'. Failover cluster will not be available.
    • The cluster Resource Hosting Subsystem (RHS) process was terminated and will be restarted. This is typically associated with cluster health detection and recovery of a resource. Refer to the System event log to determine which resource and resource DLL is causing the issue.