Replication between 2 sites and active databases

• I am fairly new to the SQL world, and don't claim to know much about anything SQL, I am trying to grasp some of the complexity of SQL. Having said all that, my situation is that we have a single SQL 2000 machine at our main office.  We have 3 satallite offices that connect over VPN tunnels back to the main site to run our software that is based off SQL.  We are looking to increase our speed in one of our bigger remote sites, and also increase our redundency by placing a SQL server 2000 machine in this location and having it be a hot box.  In otherwords we would replicate between the 2 SQL machines and keep the database current with each other and the users at Remote site would work of remote site SQL machine and all other users would work off main office SQL machine.  We have 2 databases runnning in SQL.  I have talked to a few people and they have told me this will not work or that you would have a very very high risk of corruption on both databases.  Anyone ever deal with a simular situation, I would be curious to hear back from you. 

Thanks, Shawn

ssmith@eyesfl.com

• Obviously the people you have been talking to don't know how to use SQL Server Replication or don't know how to keep data synchronised with SQL Replication!

You have 2 choices.

1. Transactional replication. Basically the head office database does all the Inserts Updates and/or Deletes and replicates the changesto the Subscribers in your case the 2 satelite offices.

2. Transactional Replication with Immediate Updating Subscribers. Same as the first option with the addition that the Subscribers are also allowed to make modifications to the Databases and send the chnages back to head office to keep it all in Sync.

There is a 3rd option and that is Merge Replication however, I don't think you need to go that far unless you wish to replicate Text & Image Datatypes.

Kindest Regards,