Resetting Identity Seed/PK''s

• Hi Guys 'n' Gals

Newbie here

I have a problem that hopefully one of you guru's can answer for me. it's concerning the id of a PK.

Let me explain....

....sometimes when inserting a new record into a table an expected error occurs, usually in early development/testing. When this error occurs the record is not inserted, which is great and expected, however, the id/pk column value skips a number on the next insert.

PK settings - col_id int identity (1,1) primary

So records 1-16 enter fine, then error on next insert (record 17), when next record added the id is 18

What I need from you please.

Can you tell me how to avoid this occuring in the future, what do I need to include in my coding? Other than a transaction (which I don't want to do) I can't think of another way to do this - that's just newbie talking here

Do you have an example script I can run against a table to reset the identity column. This then raises another question, if the PK column is a FK in another table, will the cascade UPDATE setting on the linked column, handle any changes to the identity column value?

• Okay, I've been playing around with fixing a table and came up with this so far. Haven't tested on a PK linked to a FK yet.

Any comments folks, am I going up the right path or am I going to fall over the edge of the precipice to my doom

DECLARE @CURRENT_ID INT

SET @CURRENT_ID = (SELECT IDENT_CURRENT('tbl_mytable'))

IF (SELECT col_mycol FROM tbl_mytable WHERE col_mycol = @CURRENT_ID) IS NULL

BEGIN

DECLARE @CURRENT_ID_LAST INT, @CURRENT_ID_FIX INT, @CURRENT_ID_DIFFERENCE INT

SET @CURRENT_ID_LAST = (SELECT TOP 1 col_mycol FROM tbl_mytable ORDER BY col_mycol DESC)

SET @CURRENT_ID_DIFFERENCE = (@CURRENT_ID - @CURRENT_ID_LAST)

SET @CURRENT_ID_FIX = @CURRENT_ID - @CURRENT_ID_DIFFERENCE

PRINT 'RECORD NOT FOUND - INITIATING FIX!'

PRINT 'CURRENT INCORRECT LAST IDENTITY - ' + CAST(@CURRENT_ID AS VARCHAR(32))