Restore a data base

• Hi, sorry for the dumbness, but I am pretty new to SQL SERVER. I made a backup of a data base using the Enterprise Mgr.

But when using the same Mgr I tried to restore the data base I got a msg telling that to restore there must be only 1 user logged. SInce I am the only one using my machine, and I am not in any net, I dont understand the message.

What shyould I do?

Thanks in advance

• Hello Homero,

Can you give more details?

From your message, I think that you have taken a backup of a database "abc" through Enterprise Manager.

When you try to restore the backup, are you giving a new database name or trying to restore the same.

Right click on Databases in your Enterprise Manager and select "Restore  database" option. Here you provide the new database name.

Thanks and have a nice day!!!

Lucky

• Another possibility is that you have other software attempting to access that database still running. Ensure there is nothing else running that may be attempting to connect to that database.

If you reboot the machine and just open EM do you still get this message when attempting to restore?

Steve.

• Hi Homero!

To find out who/what is accessing your database, in EM browse to Management, Current Activity and Process Info.  If you right click over the process you can kill it.  Then browse to your database and right click, go to Properties, select the Options tab and check Restrict Access, Single User.  Now you have exclusive access and should be able to restore.

Good luck!

• Many thanks for your help. I browsed to Mgmnt, Curr. Act, Process info, right clicked on every process held by 'sa' and tried to kill it. But nothing happens (I mean, the process does not dissapear) 

And when I goto my database the Properties/Options tab does no allow me to declare Restrict access (It is greyed)