Restoring when all I have is the LDF file

• Hi all

I have a customer that has just realised they havent been backing up a production database. One of their hard drives failed and the only file they have is the transaction log file (.LDF) which was being backed up to another hard disk which is operational.

They dont have _any_ backups of the original database (MDF) at all.

I have no knowledge of the database structure itself, but I was hoping to be able to view this transaction log file so I can at least find out what the table and view names in the destroyed database were, and perhaps to somehow apply the log to an empty database with empty tables in it.

Do I have any hope at all?

The whole project involved upsizing an MS Access db to SQL Server so I do have an MS Access db from 4 months ago so I know the structure of the db before it was upsized. I also have an MS Access db that contains the forms and linked tables to the SQL Server db that died so I have an MS Access interpretation of the new db structure.

Can anyone recommend a course of action (other than shooting the people who didnt do any backups)?

Thanks

• You are out of luck.. You need a full backup to be able to restore a Transaction Log. There's no 'native' way to read the transaction log, you need a third-party product like Lugiment's Log Exploreer, but that needs to be installed before you need it.

-SQLBill

• Thanks for the reply

You said in your post "...you need a third-party product like Lugiment's Log Exploreer, but that needs to be installed before you need it."

I've installed several log reading applications but I havent been able to work out how to interrogate the LDF I have. It seems as though the LDF needs to be part of a complete database (ie paired with a valid MDF) before I can look at the log.