Security: Connecting remotely to analysis services vis SSMS

• Hi,

I'm new to SSAS.... I am trying to remotely connect to SSRS via SSMS.

I have changed my windows login to be an administrator on the server. I have also added the windows user to SSAS on the machine.

I'm also getting an error when I try and connect to a cube stored in SSAS in Excel. The error is .... An error was encountered in the transport layer

Any thoughts very much appreciated.

Thanks

I get the following error:-

===================================

Cannot connect to

Authentication failed. (Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient)

------------------------------

Program Location:

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.XmlaClient.Authenticate(ConnectionInfo connectionInfo, DateTime startTime)

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.XmlaClient.OpenTcpConnection(ConnectionInfo connectionInfo)

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.XmlaClient.Connect(ConnectionInfo connectionInfo, Boolean beginSession)

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.AdomdConnection.XmlaClientProvider.Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.AdomdConnection.IXmlaClientProviderEx.ConnectXmla()

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.AdomdConnection.ConnectToXMLA(Boolean createSession, Boolean isHTTP)

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.AdomdConnection.Open()

at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.UI.VSIntegration.ObjectExplorer.ObjectExplorer.ValidateConnection(UIConnectionInfo ci, IServerType server)

at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.UI.ConnectionDlg.Connector.ConnectionThreadUser()

The logon attempt failed (Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient)

------------------------------

Program Location:

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.NTAuthentication.GetOutgoingBlob(Byte[] incomingBlob, Boolean& handshakeComplete)

at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient.XmlaClient.Authenticate(ConnectionInfo connectionInfo, DateTime startTime)

Peter Gadsby
    Business Intelligence Consultant