Security impementation for Report developers

• I am an accidental DBA for our company. We have several report/tsql developers, with average tsql skills. I trust them with tsql scripts, but not with the administration functions. The company's approach has been to pass out the server admin rights like candy. I am not for that and am trying to tighten things up. I want them to be able to install new objects and run scripts, but I want to remove them from admin. Our existing servers are a mess.

Now we recently set up a new SQL08 cluster on 2 nodes. I have convinced the sys admin that we can better manage these boxes. We have agreed that there would only be two admins, myself and him, and all access would be via AD groups.

I have also proposed that the developers get assigned another AD login that I could assign higher rights to. The high level account would be for DDL changes and would be used on a limited basis. Their low level account would only have read rights on the server and they would mainly use that for day to day work.

So I believe I have some good ideas here, but getting the security setup right the first time is important to convincing everyone that security can be implemented without hindering productivity or becoming a nuisance.

Basic info:

Developers will develop objects in more then one database within the dbo schema. They all should be able to access everything within the database, but should not be able to mess with database or sql instance security. If it is a server level function, I don't want them to have it. They will need the ability to install and start sql agent jobs. The AD Group name for them will be something like myserver_dev for the high level accounts (The low level read accounts I have taken care of.)

Please share your approach to this situation, or practices you have implemented that worked out well. Also, if you have links to other sites that would be fine as well.

Thanks in advance

Will