Select Records then run report

• I was wondering if it is possible to only run the SQL report on select records in a check box list or something.... currently i am trying to set up the web application before the report to load a dataset and then filter the dataset to what the user/client wants then save the dataset as a table then run the report from the table... but i do not think this is going ot work because of muilti-user site...  Another thought is to allow to build the dataset as they like it like before...

EXAMPLE.. Instead of running the report on Records.. 1,2,3,4,5

they could run the report on only Records... 2, 3, 5 if they wanted. or just Record 1. Does not matter.

Then i want the report to run from the Dataset that the user built.... but i do not know if this is possible... I am a complete newbie at this so please fill free to point me in the right direction and or link(s) to examples that have done this....

Thanks,

Jason

• It is possible if your datasets call SPs that accept user selections as parameters.

• sounds like you want a multi value parameter on the record number field, only Reporting Services 2005 supports multi value parameters out of the box so you'll need to check which version you're on.

Kindest Regards,

Martin

• Hi Smith,

My understanding of the problem above mentioned is:

1. You wanted to retrieve Dataset by passing multi values (selected by user from a check box list)

2. Parameter will be coma delimited Ex:'1,2,3,4,5,6' 

Generic Solution:

I am also faced a similar situation where I wanted to pass multi values to a Stored procedure.

Approach was:

1. Created a function (I got this code from the website – Sorry I couldn’t remember the url)

CREATE FUNCTION [dbo].[fn_MVParam](@RepParam nvarchar(4000), @Delim char(1)= ',')

RETURNS @VALUES TABLE (Param nvarchar(4000))AS

BEGIN

DECLARE @chrind INT

DECLARE @Piece nvarchar(4000)

SELECT @chrind = 1

WHILE @chrind > 0

BEGIN

SELECT @chrind = CHARINDEX(@Delim,@RepParam)