Select statement using two (or more) databases

• I am new to TSQL and am writing a fairly simple select statement in which I am using two separate databases (on the same server) but am unsure how to pull them in Query Analyzer. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks very much, in advance!!!!

Austin

• USE DB1

Select * from db2.dbo.TableName T1 inner join dbo.Table2 T2 on T1.id = T2.id

• Thanks very much, Remi! I must stress, however, that I am truly new to TSQL. What I tried earlier without success was the following statement is Query Analyzer:

Select rapdata.member.member_number, rapdata.member.Last_name, legalHotline.call.member_number, legalHotline.call.CallDate

From Rapdata.Member, LegalHotline.Call

Where Rapdata.Member.Member_Number=LegalHotline.Call.Member_Number

I'm not sure how to differentiate between the two different databases.

Thanks again for your kind help!

Austin

• SELECT     tblSaleAgents.SaleAgentEmployeeID,

TempTest.dbo.EMPPF.EMPNUMBER, tblSalesAgents.SalesAgentMInitial,

TempTestCareers.dbo.EMPPF.MINAME, tblSalesAgents.SalesAgentStatus,

TempTestCareers.dbo.EMPPF.EMPSTAT

FROM  tblSales LEFT OUTER JOIN TempTest.dbo.EMPPF ON dbo.tblSalesAAgents.SalesAGentFName = TempTest.dbo.EMPPF.EMFNAM AND

tblSalesAAgents.SalesAgentLName = TempTestCareers.dbo.EMPPF.EMLNAM

tblSaleAgents is the local database table

EMPPF is the second database table

So, the syntax is as the prvious answer:

databasename.dbo.tablename.columnname

Good luck

• you can use this technic to change database if you only want to run a select :

--start script

use Pubs

Select * from jobs

use NorthWind

Select * from Orders

--or the equivalient from a third db :

use master

Select * from Pubs.dbo.jobs

use NorthWind

Select * from Northwind.dbo.Orders

--end script

• Thank you both for your kind assistance and extreme patience! I think I must be VERY thick, because I am just not getting it. Here are two examples of what I have tried without any success: