Sequential read from table

• I am fairly new to T-SQL and have some experience in Oracle PL/SQL.

Here is the case:

I have to read records sequentially from some table in MSSQL database and (on some condition) do something with read data.

In Oracle I use following code:

begin

for i in (select ID, Name from table where ID between 1 and 3)

loop

dbms_output.put_line(i.Name); --simplified example

end loop;

end;

In this case there will be written 3 names in the console window.

How can I do the same in T-SQL, in simplest code?

Thanks in advance,

Tom

----------------------------------------
    I miss SQL Server so much. Now I'm working on Oracle and hate it

• This type of processing is referred to as RBAR (Row By Agonizing Row), because it is a HORRIBLY inefficient approach in the vast majority of cases. Why don't you tell us what you're actually trying to accomplish, and we'll help you figure out if it can be done with a set-based approach instead.

Drew

J. Drew Allen
    Business Intelligence Analyst
    Philadelphia, PA

• Sounds like your after a *shivers* Cursor.

Would this do the job?

Create Table #Loop (ID int, Name varchar(20))

Insert into #Loop

VAlues (1, 'Steve'),

(2, 'Jane'),

(3, 'George'),

(4, 'Harold')

Declare @Name varchar(20)

Declare Loop_Cursor Cursor for

Select Name

from #loop

where id between 1 and 3

Open Loop_Cursor

Fetch NEXT from Loop_Cursor INTO @Name

While @@FETCH_STATUS = 0

Begin

print @name

Fetch NEXT from Loop_Cursor INTO @Name

End

Close Loop_cursor

Deallocate Loop_cursor

Drop table #Loop

drew.allen (6/7/2016)

This type of processing is referred to as RBAR (Row By Agonizing Row), because it is a HORRIBLY inefficient approach in the vast majority of cases. Why don't you tell us what you're actually trying to accomplish, and we'll help you figure out if it can be done with a set-based approach instead.

Drew

Of course, as Drew is said, doing this set-based would be a much better idea.

Thom~