Shrink DB

• I recently deleted few millions of records from a 1.6TB database and started shrinking it to gain some space but its been 3 days my shrink job is still running, is that an issue or is there any other way to fast shrink the db.

• If you've only deleted a few million records from a database that size, why shrink the database?

You're probably only going to have to see it expand again as records are added. This can lead to performance issues due to fragmentation. Unless you have absolutey critical space issues, rather than shrink - you may want to consider adding enough space for the lifetime of the system, or the next 2 years - whichever is shorter, during your next downtime.

I'm a DBA.
    I'm not paid to solve problems. I'm paid to prevent them.

• I have deleted so many records for which i am expecting atleast 100gb space back and i am interested to know the reason why it takes so longer.

• Do you realize that 100GB is less than 10% of your 1.6TB database? Do you also realize that you want at least 10% (and probably more like 20%) space available in the data file for normal operations?

Have you considered how much space you need in the data file for the next 6 months growth, plus available space for reindexing operations? That is where I would estimate 20% available - but without knowing your operations, I cannot say with any certainty.

In this situation - saving 100GB of disk space is useless. You are going to use that space up again in a very short amount of time - so why bother with shrinking the data file? All it is going to do is cause you a lot of problems, destroy your indexes which are going to have to be rebuilt after the shrink, take up resources better used for query processing and when you do reindex - going to just grow the file again using up the space you just saved.

If you are running out of disk space - buy more. It's a lot less expensive than the approach you are using now.

Jeffrey Williams