Simple dba with several developers

• Hello...

I'm a 50/50 C#\TSQL guy who is moving more and more into a DBA role.

On my last contract where I was essentially "everything", I did not worry about any "shared environments" or permissions.  My local machine WAS the Dev box and that was that(and I was dbo and sysAdmin as well).

Now, if I'm a DBA but want to allow other SQL developers create their own new tables but not edit the existing ones - how is this best accomplished in a shared environment?

Ideally, we'd have a DEV database on a public server in which all developers could create their own new tables and SProcs, but the core tables, SProcs etc would remain unchanged.

Any simple suggestions ?

- B

• Simple suggestion:

The main objects (that are not to be changed) are to be owned by DBO and only created by you, the DBA.

Each developer can have the permissions to create objects under their own username (e.g. username.tablename). Once they're done with the iterative development of their DB objects, they submit to you the DBA the tested DDL creation script.

You run it as DBO, and now this object is part of the main line of development.

Does this suit your needs? I have a couple other ideas if this does not apply to your scenario.

Cheers,

-- Mark K.

• Mark - thanks.

That's pretty much what I'm after.

Is it possible to grant permissions to do things like CREATE TABLE or CREATE PROCEDURE without having the user be a sysAdmin?  There must be a way - I just need to dig into the books a bit.

- B

• Yes, there is a way.

Without a user being SysAdmin or anything, you can grant them CREATE permissions. For exampe:

GRANT CREATE TABLE to <username>

Now have said that, if you will be dealing with a large number (or often changing) developers, roles would be a better and generally more elegant solution.

1. Create a role called , say, devrole