Single database or multiple?

• I am a new DBA cum programmer in an University. I have to design software to process students end-semester examination results.

Should I use single database to store data of all the semesters or one database for each semester (of 6 months). Which strategy is better? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Experienced DBAs/Programmers, please help me. What strategy is used in case of Financial Accounting software, one database for each financial year or single database?

Thank you very much.

• Without knowing the exact requirements, I would say that the single db approach is preferable.

• RDBMS are designed and optimized for handling large amounts of data without losing too much performance, if at all.
    • The overall administration will be easier.
    • Your code to access the data will be much more maintainable if stored in one db and in one table. You can make the semester or the financial year a column of your table and filter that way very efficiently your data.
    • You won't be forced to use dynamic sql to access the data.
    • As you say you work at an university, I would go to the library and search for some books on relational database theory like CJ Date 'An Introduction to Databases, 8th edition' or something similar. No easy stuff, but it should pay.

HTH

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• I agreewith Frank kalis. A single Database approach is the place to start.

I don't know why you are even contemplating multiple Database at this stage! The fist stage is to come up with a Conceptual Model and then ascertain.

Kindest Regards,

• Like Frank Kalis and MrSQL said. Probably one db sould do fine.