SQL 2005 collation conflict

• Hi I am new to SQL 2005.

I installed a SQL 2005 standard edition on a win 2003 machine and assigned the sql collation as SQL_Latin1_General_CP850_CI_AI.

Later after adding users (logins- windows) to the sql server and database I found this unusal exception error like :

Cannot resolve the collation conflict between 'Latin1_General_Bin'and

'SQL_Latin1_General_CP850_CI_AI in the UNION operation (Microsoft SQL Server,Error:468)

I have installed the same with the settings on another machine and didnt have any collation issue at all.

The only difference is the machine which cause this error has a domain name with a hyphen-minus ( - ) symbol like Micro-Soft. And the other machine which didnt have any issue was with a domain name without the hyphen-minus ( - ) symbol like Microsoft.

To what i have found the hyphen-minus is a sprecial character or a reserved symbol use by SQL Server.

The collation conflict is intermittent and does appear always. And it appear only when i access to view the Securables under logins name properties.

Is this the possible cause for such a collation error to happen?

Can anyone help me on this please?

Here is the screen capture of the error occured:

I have google to source much info on this but not able to find any information on this.

Thanks and regards,

chandra

• This error occcurs when databases with different collation interacts. This can be solved by specifying the collate collation name in the from clause of your query.

Cheers,
    Sugeshkumar Rajendran
    SQL Server MVP
    http://sugeshkr.blogspot.com

• Hi,

Thanks for the swift response...

sorry,

How do i do this " specifying the collate collation name in the from clause of your query."?

how i do this query and where should it be apply to pls?

Is there any steps of guide i can use to do this pls?

Thanks and regards,

chandra

• select a.*,b.*

from tablea a,tableb b

where a.col1=b.col1 collate collation name