SQL 2K DATABASES ON NAS

• Hello, I need help to know if there are any issues in having SQL server 2000 databases placed on a NAS in a clustering environment.

We are planning for DL560 HP servers for the cluster, running Windows 2003 and would like to look at NS701 from EMC. There is a considerable savings in using a NAS as compared to a SAN.

Any info from people that have used or evaluated this kind of environment is greatly appreciated.

Sudha Kantamneni

sudha_ims@yahoo.com

• Hi there

I have had no direct experience (always been SAN or DAS based), but my concern would be:

a)  CPU utilisation - be very careful with CPU utilisation and the HBA/NIC/SW combo used to fulfil iSCSI.  I would seriosly consider a TOE card to offload cpu work related to iscsi message packing.

b)  Speed - is your NAS filer file or block storage based for example?  much of the IO in DBMS environments is not file based as you can imagine, and this read/write characteristic requires higher throughout in which the NAS may struggle with (and therefore return poor IO statistics).  I would consider profiling your existing servers for a period, and replaying these back against a NAS solution.  That said, given the cost you may not have this opportunity.

Cheers

Ck

Chris Kempster
    www.chriskempster.com
    Author of "SQL Server Backup, Recovery & Troubleshooting"
    Author of "SQL Server 2k for the Oracle DBA"

• Please read this one KB Microsoft article:

INF: Support for Network Database Files (http://support.microsoft.com/?id=304261)

HTH
    fc
  • Thank you for the prompt response. The KB article you suggested has notes made that network-based files cannot be used for SQL 2000 Failover Clustered Installations.

Any info if you have seen a work-around is greatly appreciated..

Sudhakar