SQL Administration Tools

• I've been an admin for a few years now. I recently went to work for a managed services company. I've always used EM or custom stored procs to handle all my db maintinace and monitoring. Now though every sql server is behind not one but two firewalls that don't allow rpc in most cases or named pipes ether. I was thinking of working with DMO and building a web admin tool but it looks like at some level DMO uses named pipes and/or wins/netbios lookups on names. I need a tool that will basicly duplicate EM but only talk on tcp 1433 to the servers I need. I know this is tall order. I haven't looked at any third party tools yet. I thought I'd pose the question here first.

Thanks

• EM will run onn 1433, but also uses 435 or 433 or something like that. I caught this on my personal firewall at home.

The only problem with a web admin is that some things take more time than a web server will allow.

I'd ask for either firewall access to/from specific IPs if possible. If you have Windows 2000, then terminal services (admin mode) is another possibility.

Are you looking for complete EM functionality? Or can you live with T-SQL functionality and then script your changes?

Steve Jones

steve@dkranch.net