SQL backup Script is appending instead of overwriting

• I have been running this Backup script for several years but yesterday I had to transfer the database to another server, so I also copied the backup script and tasks from the old server to the new server, but now the hourly backups are spending instead of over writing the destination file. The only thing that changed in the script was the location of the database. Here is the script I am using.

BACKUP DATABASE [Cencon] TO DISK = N'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Backup\Cencon SQL Backup hourly.bak' WITH NOFORMAT, NOINIT, NAME = N'Cencon-Full Database Backup', SKIP, NOREWIND, NOUNLOAD, STATS = 10

GO

Any help would be appreciated

Thank You

Michael D. Winn

mwinn@ftsius.com

• it's an easy fix.

change the NOINIT TO INIT

that is append vs create/overwrite.

mwinn (8/11/2016)

I have been running this Backup script for several years but yesterday I had to transfer the database to another server, so I also copied the backup script and tasks from the old server to the new server, but now the hourly backups are spending instead of over writing the destination file. The only thing that changed in the script was the location of the database. Here is the script I am using.

BACKUP DATABASE [Cencon] TO DISK = N'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Backup\Cencon SQL Backup hourly.bak' WITH NOFORMAT, NOINIT, NAME = N'Cencon-Full Database Backup', SKIP, NOREWIND, NOUNLOAD, STATS = 10

GO

Any help would be appreciated

Thank You

Michael D. Winn

mwinn@ftsius.com

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!