SQL DBA tools

• Dear All,

Pls dont mind if i posted in the wrong section but since this section is DBA , and the question is related to DBA field.

Anyway in short , i am new to this SQL field although i have passed recently MCDBA.my question is that in lot of jobs they ask as a DBA :

1)What tools do i know.What do they mean by that.Do i need to know more tools than Microsoft provides ?

2)any tools to write automation scripts ?are their any more tools.?Pls let me know if their are any easy and good tools for writing automation scripts.and specially used in the common market.

thanks

• Suppose they mean

1) engeneering/reverse engeneering tools - ErStudio, Enterprise Architec

2) Monitoring tools - Spotlight, CA, HP monitoring tool

3) Utilities like Lumigent log explorer

4) Useful DBA tools such as TOAD

• For a DBA you dont need to know any tools for administration. Tools reduce ur work load so its ur choice to go for Tools or use SQL Server features.

• HI heavymind1 and Ratheesh,

thanks for your comments.

Well agreed on comments but since i am not a programmer , so i must know as a DBA , either how to do scipting or use some kind of tools for automating scripts.

I dont know what my interviewer was asking about those automating scripting tools.Have any idea?

• There are a few reasons an interviewer might ask these kinds of questions.

They might have a tool that is an integral part of their process. If they deploy code changes using a source code control system and you have experience with that system, that’s a plus for both of you.

A DBA has a lot of routine monitoring and maintenance tasks that are important but time consuming if done manually. If you have experience with monitoring tools or scripting you can do your routine tasks more efficiently and be more productive.