Sql help: Triggers

• Hi,

I have a Master_detail table with 5 columns (shown below). I want track any changes to the values in the table in a seperate table called Master_Detail_Change table. I have ld and new columns. Planning to use a Update_trigger to record the changes. Can the trigger be written to handle multiple datatypes?

Master_detail

-------------

Year char(4)

Account_nm varchar(10)

Account_desc varchar(50)

Amount Money

Date Datetime

Update_id Suser_Sname()

Master_detail_Change

---------------------

Old_Account_nm

New_Account_nm

Account_desc

New_Account_desc

Old_Amount

New_Amount

Update_id Suser_Sname()

• i think you'll want to search a bit more here on SSC for a better example of auditing changes.

first, your example table is missing a primary key...so for your example, it'd be very very difficult to identify which row changed form one value to another, without a way to link it directly back to the original row.

once you have a PK, you typically save copies of both rows, or sometimes just the specific columns you want to track...you don't want to try and use a name-value pair and a catch all column that gets everything converted to the same datatype.

Your table could potentially have hundreds of rows updated int eh same statement as well....

anyway, here's a rough example based on your prototype table.

CREATE TABLE Master_detail(

DetailID int identity(1,1) not null primary key,

[Year] char(4) ,

Account_nm varchar(10) ,

Account_desc varchar(50) ,

Amount Money ,

[Date] Datetime ,

Update_id varchar(30) default Suser_Sname() )

CREATE TABLE Master_detail_Change(

Identifier varchar(10),--typically "Old Value" and "New Value"

DetailID int ,

[Year] char(4) ,

Account_nm varchar(10) ,

Account_desc varchar(50) ,

Amount Money ,

[Date] Datetime ,

Update_id varchar(30))

GO

CREATE TRIGGER TR_AudityMyTable ON Master_detail

FOR UPDATE

AS

BEGIN

SET NOCOUNT ON -- avoid printing "x rows(s) affected"