SQL Jobs

• Can any one tell me Is there any way to find out whether a particular table is getting effected by any of the SQL job?

• What do you mean with "effected"?

Modified?

Currently locked?

...?

-- Gianluca Sartori

• Sorry for the Confusion

I am getting a time out issue when I am running my SSIS package through SQL Job. In the SSIS package I have a simple Select statement which inserts the data into destination table. But when I run the same select statement in SSMS, it is executing with in 2 sec. So I just want to know whether the same table is involved in one or more jobs running at the same time.

• You could quey locks being held on the table in sys.dm_tran_locks.

I would not re-invent the wheel, however, I would rather pick a ready-made tool like Adam Machanic sp_WhoIsActive.

With that procedure, you can easily find what blocks the SSIS package (given it is a blocking issue).

-- Gianluca Sartori

• I am new to SQL.Can you please elaborate the steps I need to do? Thanks in Advance.

• 1. Download sp_WhoIasActive

2. Run the script to create the stored procedure

3. Start the SSIS package via job

4. Open a new query editor window in SSMS and type:

EXEC sp_WhoIsActive @get_outer_command = 1, @find_block_leaders = 1

You should see a list of processes running. One of those processes is the SSIS package. You will identify it from the "program_name" column.

If this is a blocking issue, the row corresponding to the SSIS package should have a SPID number in the "blocking_session_id" column.

-- Gianluca Sartori

• chandrika.r 91171 (2/14/2012)

Sorry for the Confusion

I am getting a time out issue when I am running my SSIS package through SQL Job. In the SSIS package I have a simple Select statement which inserts the data into destination table. But when I run the same select statement in SSMS, it is executing with in 2 sec. So I just want to know whether the same table is involved in one or more jobs running at the same time.