SQL Server 2014 maintenance plan backups

• We are planning to migrate from a SQL Server 2008 R2 Active\Active two node cluster to a SQL Server 2014 two node cluster using Availability Groups. I have been told that we have two choices for backups. We can use DPM or SQL Server 2014 Maintenance plans. I was told if we go with Maintenance Plans.... we will need the same plans on both nodes and one node (the secondary) will always log failures.... is this true? We have used SQL Server maintenance plans for 10 years on our Failover Cluster Instances and we have never had any issues. I am very new to Availability Groups and would greatly appreciate any and all advice/information.

Thank you in advance,

Charlie

• Create backup jobs on both the nodes and add tsql code to check for the primary replica as first step before the maintenance plan step .

If node = primary then step1 succeeds goes to Step 2 to execute the plan otherwise step1 fails which inturn fails the job.

• Thank you... this information is very helpful. I will discuss with my manager at my One on One today.

• rummings (3/10/2015)

We are planning to migrate from a SQL Server 2008 R2 Active\Active two node cluster to a SQL Server 2014 two node cluster using Availability Groups. I have been told that we have two choices for backups. We can use DPM or SQL Server 2014 Maintenance plans. I was told if we go with Maintenance Plans.... we will need the same plans on both nodes and one node (the secondary) will always log failures.... is this true? We have used SQL Server maintenance plans for 10 years on our Failover Cluster Instances and we have never had any issues. I am very new to Availability Groups and would greatly appreciate any and all advice/information.

Thank you in advance,

Charlie

I would use DPM if you have it available. For backup and recovery I have very rarely seen anything more capable.