SQL Server does not exist or access denied?

• I'm cracking up, folks.

I have IIS 5.0 on one Win2K Pro machine (Machine A), and MSSQL 2000 on a Win2K Server machine (Machine B), both on my local network.

I was making some changes to my network because I was swapping out my satellite internet connection for DSL. The changes to my network amounted to changing the IPs of these two machines. Then I got a Linksys router between the DSL and my network, to allow me to do VPN stuff and expose my IIS server to my clients for demos. Like today's demo -- which went down in flames.

Suddenly my ASP pages on Machine A now are coughing up the error "SQL Server does not exist or access denied" for non-NT authenticated users when they try to do DB calls. I do not have a domain here, just a workgroup, and I have never used NT authentication before with this site. If I turn off anonymous users, I can get in from my local machine -- but I have the same username/password on both machines, so it's apparently using that. If I turn on anonymous logins, then ALL users (me included) get that error message.

My connection string is unremarkable:

Provider=SQLOLEDB.1; OLE DB Services=-1;User ID=sqlusername; Password=sqlpassword; Initial Catalog=mainDB; Data Source=MachineB\Instance1

Parts of the site that don't do DB calls work fine -- but all DB calls fail.

I tried all variations of the IIS security settings. I need to have "Integrated Windows Authentication" turned on for it to work from Machine A. BUT...if I have that on *and* Anonymous Access both turned on, it fails on Machine A. (Having Basic Authentication on or off makes no difference.) But no matter what settings I choose, NOTHING works from a machine off of my network. Users can see the login page, but when they submit it, they wait, and they get the error message.

Any ideas? Anyone?

-Tom

• quote:

I'm cracking up, folks.

Responding to my own message here...