SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

• ANY RAPID REPLIES GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

I'm running SQL Server 2000 (Developer's Edition) on my notebook (Server name: "EAGLE2K\ALLANA". under Windows 2000). I have been running this computer for under 60 days. I have 3 important databases that I fortunately backed up last night at home. I also connect to 2 other Servers when on the network. I have been running a VB 6 app accessing these db's for nearly 2 months with very few problems. Sometime last night, my app couldn't see the local db's. I tried today, and I was able to access the network servers, but I keep getting the message shown in the Subject of this question. I have tried to update the registration for the server, I have tried to create an additional instance of the server, I have removed the registration of the "missing" server and tried to re-register it, I have tried to create a new Server Group and register a new server ====> All of these attempts have failed. Note that I have started and stopped the service, and I have rebooted the system - also to no avail. In addition, SQL Server Service Manager reports that the server is there and is doing fine.

What's happened to my local instance, and what can I do to fix it? Should I re-install SQL Server on the notebook?

[Additional notes that should not really matter - I am running this on Win2K on VMware, running on Win XP Home. Total memory 256MB, amount allocated to the Win2K session - 128MB. The CPU is 2.4 GHz Pentium 4, with 40 GB of harddrive].

Any suggestions? Thanks,

Allan

• what is the connection string you used from your VB program ?

Linto

• The VB program code is:

cn_FmcAgvdbOhio = "Data PROVIDER=MSDASQL;DSN=AGVS1_a;uid=sa;pwd=;database=FmcAgvdbOhio;"

Note that I have the same DSN setup for the production server on the network - just one says "AGSV1", and the other says "EAGLE2K\ALLANA".

• Actually, the code for the local server in the VB program is: