SQL server interview question!

• Hi,

I am new to sql server administration. And I was asked this question in one of my interview.

You are unable to connect to sql server. Where do you look to find out the reason?

After I answered , I will look in the windows logs and try to trouleshoot,

they asked,

The server crashed. You cannot access anything. And you are given a new box, what will you do?

what is the first thing that is to be done?Can anyone give the big picture?

Thanks

SVR

• How "crashed" is "crashed". Like, the server caught on fire and the CPU is vaporized? Or Windows Server shut down and you have to use the power switch to start it up again? Or you don't know, you just know it's not responding to DAC? Or it is responding to DAC, but not to anything else?

It really depends on what "crashed" means.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• my answers:

Hi,

I am new to sql server administration. And I was asked this question in one of my interview.

You are unable to connect to sql server. Where do you look to find out the reason?

my starting point is to determine the point of failure:

1. Is the Network Up/am I having personal connectivity issues...

2. next, is the Server Up...

3. Next is the Service for SQL Up....

After I answered , I will look in the windows logs and try to trouleshoot,

they asked,

The server crashed. You cannot access anything. And you are given a new box, what will you do?

what is the first thing that is to be done?Can anyone give the big picture?

Thanks

SVR

1. start restoring user databases to the new server.

2. If the logins were previously scripted out for disaster recovery, restore the logins.